Everyone needs a break sometimes

I just spent a long weekend in lovely Portland, Oregon and I’m feeling recharged and ready to tackle anything. While I didn’t give up my daily writing habit, it’s so normal that it doesn’t feel like work, I did take a break from editing. As a result of a week long break from writing in the morning and editing most of the day, I’m feeling twice as productive now that I’ve had some rest.

I love writing and editing and it was hard to tear myself away for a few days where I didn’t obsess about it. What I learned was that breaks are really good for me. I explored a new city, got inspired, relaxed and ended up helping my creativity. Naps without guilt helped tremendously.

I was starting to dread sitting down to edit and my attitude changed entirely by the time I arrived home. I’ll be scheduling more frequent vacations for myself in the near future.

Is there anything that helps your creativity that you stubbornly don’t do enough? I’d love to hear about it in a comment!

❤ Scarlette

 

Leave a Reply

