Establishing a Writing Routine

Now that Camp NaNoWriMo is over I’ve been thinking a lot about how I am going to structure my writing time. This feels particularly important because it’s really easy to not write. I’m sure I’m not the only one who gets easily distracted by Facebook even when I have a Word document open on the same computer.

My writing was starting to slip later and later into the day until I was rushing to get the last 1000 words written before my S.O. got home from work. Rushing is a bit ridiculous when writing is your only scheduled activity for the day. So something obviously needed to change. For the sake of productivity I needed to get a routine so that writing became a priority instead of something I might get to.

My solution has been to tweak what made me sucessful during Camp NaNoWriMo. I know I’m super productive during writing sprints so I used this to my advantage. I could easily hit my daily word count goal in four 30 minute chunks of time. The timer on my phone is plenty of motivation to keep my brain on my writing and it was a helpful reminder if I was tempted to stray.

This became incredibly helpful to get the writing done, but it didn’t actually prevent me from stalling. Once I realized this I became more strict about scheduling. I decided that I would be in my writing chair by 8:30am for my first writing sprint every day that I could reasonably do so. My writing days  are now structured into 30 minutes of writing and 30 minute breaks. This allows me to be finished writing by noon and it also allows me breaks to look at Facebook, wash dishes, or shower in my down time.

This structure makes my mornings feel very productive and allows me the rest of my day to not worry about making my word count.

I have been doing this for three days now and I think this could really work well for me in the long run. How do you structure your writing day?

Leave a Reply

