Finishing Camp NaNoWriMo and Other Things

I’m a little late on this post but I finished Camp NaNoWriMo! It took me 9 days and I wrote five 10,000 word short stories that I’m going to be editing the next couple of weeks. I’m incredibly happy to have met my 50,000 word goal and it’s the first time that I’ve hit my word goal during Camp!

The not so happy part of this story is that promptly after finishing Camp I got the flu. Bummer. I’m still on the mend but I’m getting better slowly. I’ve been more stressed than maybe I should have because I was really hoping to keep some writing momentum going.

Now that I’m getting ready to jump back in the saddle I am faced with making new writing goals for the month. This would probably be much easier if I wasn’t still a little mentally foggy from nyquil. I’m thinking that I would like to produce at least 8 new short stories for the month of May but that number is a little arbitrary.

I guess I’m wondering how you all make you’re writing goals. How do you determine your word counts? Do you allow for disaster to strike by aiming low or do you plan for you maximum output and fall short when life strikes?

I’m curious to hear your thoughts! Please leave me a comment and let me know how you determine your writing goals.

Leave a Reply

